All Mauritians living on the island are taxable by the government. A foreigner who spends more than 183 days of the tax year in Mauritius will fall automatically under the Mauritian fiscal regime. 
This corresponds to a minimum period of six months and a day (effected at any one time or accumulated over several stays during the calendar year). 
As the country has signed a non-double taxation agreement with 43 countries, the status of Mauritian tax resident leads to a certain number of advantages such as: 
No inheritance duties or tax on profits 
Dividends and capital gains exempt of tax 
Income tax for individuals and companies harmonised at 15% 
Bank interest and free repatriation of profits 
Rental income from a property is taxed at 15% 
Rental income from a property is taxed at 15% 
There are currently double taxation agreements in place with 34 countries 


Any one of the following is eligible to acquire property under the schemes: 
A citizen of Mauritius; 
A non-citizen of Mauritius; 
A company registered as a foreign company under the Mauritian Companies Act 2001; 
A company incorporated under the Mauritian Companies Act 2001 
A company, where its deed of formation is deposited with the Registrar of Companies; 
A trust, where the trusteeship services are provided by a qualified trustee licensed by the Financial Services. 


Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings